News

November 2014
Fri, November 21 New technology supports language development in signed languages
Thu, November 13 Madhya-Purbiya Tharu speakers begin the first dictionary for their language
Wed, November 05 Community celebrates print and online publication of the Agutaynen-English Dictionary
October 2014
Thu, October 30 Ebola resources translated into Senegalese languages
Thu, October 23 Partners build on each other’s strengths at event in Thailand
September 2014
Mon, September 15 SIL presentations at 44th Colloquium on African Languages and Linguistics
Wed, September 03 Linguists receive royal honor in Netherlands
August 2014
Fri, August 22 New publication describes the grammar of Kankanaey, a language of the Philippines
Fri, August 15 Forty-two students complete applied linguistics course in San Luís Potosí
Thu, August 07 Launch of SIL Pacific website
July 2014
Mon, July 28 3rd International Conference on Linguistic and Cultural Diversity in Cyberspace
Wed, July 23 New book explores the traditional knowledge of a coastal people
Wed, July 09 CoLang 2014 faculty includes SIL instructors
Wed, July 02 SIL International introduces new logo
June 2014
Thu, June 26 Supporting communities through language and culture documentation
Fri, June 20 Thirty-three years of teamwork reflected in new dictionary
Wed, June 11 A community in Nepal takes ownership of language development
Thu, June 05 SEALS 2014: Asian language specialists meet in Myanmar
May 2014
Fri, May 30 Dictionary workshop is final step in language development training
Tue, May 20 In Bangladesh, a new writing system paves the way for learning
Tue, May 13 CILTA welcomes students from seven countries for 2014 course
Fri, May 02 Remembering Dr. Robert Longacre (1922-2014)
April 2014
Tue, April 29 SIL presentations at ACAL 45
Thu, April 24 Solomon Islands National Parliament recognizes new translation
Fri, April 11 LEAD Asia equips development practitioners to secure funding
Mon, April 07 Language and Culture Documentation Workshop—June 2014
Fri, April 04 WEA announcement of Oversight Group
Wed, April 02 A new stable release for FieldWorks Language Explorer (FLEx)
March 2014
Fri, March 28 Planning the Future of Your Language workshop in Peru
Tue, March 25 Howard McKaughan and Barbara Grimes remembered
Thu, March 20 New e-Books available for free download
Thu, March 13 Communities pursue language development through dictionary workshops
February 2014
Wed, February 26 New resource: Developing Orthographies for Unwritten Languages
Thu, February 13 International Mother Language Day 2014
January 2014
Thu, January 30 Supporting survivors of violent conflict in Central African Republic
Tue, January 28 Discovering the intricacies of language in Papua New Guinea
Thu, January 23 Registration now open for Second Philippine Linguistic Institute
Wed, January 08 A new year of language research begins with LSA & SSILA 2014